Lok Sabha Election 2024: What is the history of Krishnanagar Lok Sabha seat of West Bengal?

By Priyanka Tiwari February 10, 2024 11:09 PM IST

Krishnanagar West Bengal- India TV Hindi

Image Source : INDIA TV
Krishnanagar seat of West Bengal

Kolkata: Krishnanagar Lok Sabha seat is an important seat among the 42 Lok Sabha seats of West Bengal. It has 7 assembly constituencies. This area is situated on the banks of Jalangi river in Nadia district. According to beliefs, this city was named Krishnanagar after the name of King Krishnachandra Rai.

Krishnanagar has an average literacy rate of over 88%. The male literacy rate here is 91% and the female literacy rate is 85%. The official language here is Bengali, while English, Hindi and Urdu are also widely used. Mainly rice and mango are produced here. Apart from this, sugar mills, animal husbandry and fishing are also specialties of this area.

What were the results of the 2014 elections?

In 2014, Tapas Pal of Trinamool Congress had won from here. He defeated Shantanu Jha of CPM. Tapas’s victory margin was 71,255 votes. Tapas Pal got 4,38,789 votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Whereas, CPM’s Shantanu Jha got 3,67,534 votes.

What was the number of voters in 2014?

During this period, the number of male voters was 7,69,981 and the number of female voters was 7,06,791. The total number of voters was 14,76,783.

What were the results of the 2019 elections?

TMC’s Mahua Moitra had won the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Mahua Moitra got 614,872 votes. BJP’s Kalyan Choubey was at second position. He got 5,51,654 votes. Let us tell you that Mahua has lost the membership of Lok Sabha in the ‘query on cash’ case.

What were the election results in 2009?

In 2009, Tapas Pal of Trinamool Congress defeated Jyotirmayi Sikandar of CPIM. Tapas Pal got 443,679 votes and Jyotirmayee Sikandar got 366,293 votes.

When were the elections held in the year 2019?

The Election Commission had announced the dates for the Lok Sabha elections on March 10, 2019. The Election Commission had announced that the 2019 elections would be conducted in 7 phases. These elections ran from 11 April to 19 May. The counting of votes took place on 23 May.

Latest India News