Shatrughan Sinha and Sunny Deol remained ‘silent’ in Parliament for 5 years, did not speak a single word in the 17th Lok Sabha

By Priyanka Tiwari February 13, 2024 5:47 PM IST

shatrughan sinha sunny deol- India TV Hindi

Image Source : PTI
Shatrughan Sinha and Sunny Deol

New Delhi: BJP’s Mohan Mandavi and Bhagirath Chaudhary were the two members in the 17th Lok Sabha who achieved the distinction of 100 per cent attendance in a total of 274 sittings during the five-year period. It would be a coincidence that these two members, who reached the Lok Sabha for the first time, were allotted seats next to each other in the House. On the other hand, actor-politician Sunny Deol (BJP) and Shatrughan Sinha (TMC) were among the nine Lok Sabha members who did not participate in any discussion.

Let us tell you that Sunny Deol represents Gurdaspur Lok Sabha constituency of Punjab. At the same time, Mamata Banerjee’s party TMC sent Shatrughan Sinha to the Lok Sabha in 2022 by giving ticket in the by-election held on Asansol seat of West Bengal. Before this he was in BJP.

What did Mohan Mandavi say on 100% attendance?

Mohan Mandavi said, “The work assigned to me, I do it with full responsibility. I represent the Kanker tribal region of Chhattisgarh and I participated in the House even during the Covid-19 pandemic.” According to data shared by an organization called ‘PRS Legislative’, Chaudhary, MP from Ajmer Lok Sabha constituency of Rajasthan and Mandavi’s attendance during the 17th Lok Sabha was 100 percent. An average attendance of 79 percent was observed during the five-year tenure. Mandavi said that he and Chaudhary had adjacent seats in the Lok Sabha.

Pushpendra Singh Chandel was the most active MP in the Parliament.

BJP member Pushpendra Singh Chandel from Uttar Pradesh’s Hamirpur was the most active member in Parliament, taking part in 1,194 discussions in the 17th Lok Sabha, followed by Kuldeep Rai Sharma from Andaman and Nicobar Islands (833 discussions). This body considers participation by a member in the discussion on bills, raising issues during Zero Hour, making special mentions and associating himself with the issues raised by other members as ‘participation in discussion’. BSP member Malook Nagar (Bijnor) participated in 582 discussions, followed by DMK member DNV Senthilkumar from Dharmapuri (307 discussions), RSP member NK Premachandran from Kollam (265), Nationalist Congress Party (SCP) member Supriya Sule from Baramati ( 248) participated.

These 9 MPs did not participate in any discussion

Sunny Deol and Shatrughan Sinha were among the nine Lok Sabha members who did not participate in any discussion. BJP members Ramesh Jigajinagi, BN Bachegowda, Pradhan Barua, Ananth Kumar Hegde and V Srinivas Prasad, TMC member Dibyendu Adhikari and BSP member Atul Kumar Rai were the other members who did not participate in any discussion in the 17th Lok Sabha. (Language)

Also read-

Latest India News