West Indies announce squad for England as preparations begin for 2027 World Cup Shai Hope becomes captain. Team announced for ODI series against England, these 15 players got place

By Nishu Bhardwaj November 21, 2023 1:04 PM IST

West Indies Cricket Team- India TV Hindi

Image Source : GETTY
West Indies Cricket Team

The West Indies team could not qualify for the ODI World Cup 2023. Now the team’s eyes will be on qualifying for the ODI World Cup 2027. The team has already started preparations for this. West Indies has announced the team for the three-match ODI series against England. 15 players have got a chance in the squad. Shai Hope has got the responsibility of captaincy. Alzarri Joseph has been made the vice-captain.

Chief selector said this

West Indies team chief selector Desmond Haynes said that we are eager to welcome England. The first match between the two teams will start on December 3 in Antigua. England are always full of excitement and expectation when they tour the West Indies. We expect this to be a hard-fought series, but we are also confident that our team will perform well in home conditions. We have a clear plan. We are focused on building a solid team. Our main focus is on ICC World Cup 2027.

West Indies will prepare for the England series with a camp in Antigua in the coming days and new coach Darren Sammy hopes the time spent with his teammates will help his team immensely. Sammy said that everyone is fully aware of what is required to prepare to face England on home soil. I believe that when you prepare well, you have the best chance of winning.

These 2 players did not get a chance

Star all-rounder Jason Holder and batsman Nicholas Pooran will focus on the Test and next year’s T20 World Cup. For this reason these players have not got a chance in the ODI series against England. This has cleared the way for uncapped all-rounders Sherfane Rutherford and Matthew Ford to make a place in the team.

West Indies team for ODI series against England:

Shai Hope (captain), Alzarri Joseph (vice-captain), Alek Athanazé, Yannick Kariya, Casey Carty, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Matthew Forde, Shimron Hetmyer, Brandon King, Gudakesh Moti, Kjorn Ottley, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Oshane Thomas.

ODI Schedule:

1st ODI: 3 December, Antigua

2nd ODI: 6 December, Antigua
3rd ODI: 9 December, Barbados

Also read:

Bumrah-Samson are out, three have entered; Team India has changed so much since the last series

Bad news for fans even before IND vs AUS series, this strong player is out

Latest Cricket News