Uday Saharan became the first Indian captain to be the top scorer in the U 19 World Cup. Uday Saharan: Big record of Uday Saharan, became the first Indian captain to do so in the history of U19 World Cup

By Nishu Bhardwaj February 12, 2024 8:44 AM IST

Uday Saharan- India TV Hindi

Image Source : ICC
Uday Saharan’s big record in U19 World Cup

U19 World Cup 2024: The journey of the Indian team in the Under-19 World Cup 2024 was quite spectacular. But she remained one step away from winning the trophy. Team India had to face defeat by Australia by 79 runs in the final match. In this tournament, the command of Team India was in the hands of Uday Saharan. He could not win the title for the team, but he definitely made a record which was not in the name of any Indian captain before.

Uday Saharan created history in U19 World Cup

Uday Saharan was very successful as a batsman in this tournament. He scored 397 runs in 7 matches with an impressive average of 56.71. During this, Uday Saharan played one century and three half-century innings and was the top scorer of the Under-19 World Cup 2024. The special thing is that he is the first captain of India who has become the top scorer of this tournament. Before this, 4 Indian players had been top scorers in different editions, but none of them was the captain of the team.

List of Indian players who were top scorers in U19 World Cup

  1. Shikhar Dhawan- 2004 (505)
  2. Cheteshwar Pujara- 2006 (349)
  3. Tanmay Srivastava- 2008 (262)
  4. Yashasvi Jaiswal- 2020 (400)
  5. Uday Saharan- 2024 (397)

This was how the final match between India and Australia was

In this match, the Australian team won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, the Australian team had given the target of 254 runs to the Indian team, in response to which the Indian team was all out for 174 runs. Like the Indian team, no player could touch the 50-run mark. At the same time, this was the first time in the U19 World Cup that the Australian team defeated India in the final. On the other hand, the Australian team won the Under-19 World Cup trophy for the fourth time. Australia had earlier won the Under-19 World Cup title in the year 1988, 2002 and 2010.

read this also

IND vs ENG: The wait of cricket fans will end! Team India captain will make his test debut in Rajkot

IND vs ENG: Who will replace Virat Kohli in the third test? Shreyas Iyer is out, who is the contender now?

Latest Cricket News