Whose government will be formed in Pakistan? There is an uproar over allegations of election rigging

By Pooja Bhardwaj February 11, 2024 7:15 AM IST

pakistan election results- India TV Hindi

Image Source : FILE PHOTO
pakistan election result

Commonwealth election observers in Pakistan on Saturday said that barring a few incidents, the general election process in the country went smoothly. Election observer group chief Jonathan Goodluck has submitted preliminary findings to the Commonwealth Observer Group (COG) in Islamabad. He said that a brief description regarding pre-election environment, observation on election day and post-election environment has been submitted. He said that barring a few incidents, the general election process in Pakistan was conducted smoothly.

Pakistan Election Result 2024 Live:

Counting of votes for Pakistan’s 12th general election held on Thursday February 8 is still underway, with latest data showing that candidates from cricketer-turned-politician and jailed former Prime Minister Imran Khan’s Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI ) is supported. PTI has so far won 93 of the 266 National Assembly seats for which voting was held.

Supporters of jailed former Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan and Jamaat-e-Islami party raise slogans during a protest against the delay in parliamentary election results by the Election Commission of Pakistan in Karachi, Pakistan, Saturday, Feb. 10, 2024. The country’s Election Commission had refused to give PTI its election symbol bat and hence, it could not contest the elections. Instead, it was forced to field its candidates as independents.

Meanwhile, the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) of former prime ministers Nawaz and Shehbaz Sharif have so far won 73 seats, while the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) of late former prime ministers Zulfikar Ali Bhutto and his daughter Benazir Bhutto has won 73 seats. So far 73 seats have been won. The party led by Benazir Bhutto’s son Bilawal Bhutto has secured 54 seats.

Let us tell you that till now the results of 256 seats have been declared but no clear result has been found. Meanwhile, PML-N and PPP discussed government formation, but no final decision has been taken.

There have been allegations of large-scale rigging in the elections and the US, Britain and the European Union have criticized the election process. However, Pakistan has denied his allegation.

Three newly elected independent candidates – Barrister Aqeel, Raja Khurram Nawaz and Mian Khan Bugti – have joined the PML-N. They won by NA-54, 48, and 253 respectively.

PTI will hold protests across the country today amid the delay in results. The party, which was forced to field its candidates as independents after the Election Commission did not allow them to use its bat symbol, called a nationwide protest at 2 pm to protect the ‘sanctity of voting’. Have called for ‘peaceful protests’ throughout. PTI-backed independent candidates have also started moving the High Court alleging rigging in the vote counting.

Latest World News